NBS Stable’s graded stakes-winner Mohawk Trail and Laurie Plesa and Glassman Racing’s multiple stakes-winner Time Passage will represent the Sunshine State Saturday at Gulfstream Park in the Grade 3 Honey Fox. A field of 11 fillies and mares, 4-years-old and older will vie for the winner’s share of the $150,000 purse in the one-mile test on the turf that offers a $20,000 Top 3 bonus for Florida-breds paid on a 50%-30%-20% scale presented by the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders’ and Owners’ Association.

Trained by Kelsey Danner, Mohawk Trail makes her first start of the year Saturday after winning three of eight races including two stakes at Woodbine in 2023.

In consecutive starts, Mohawk Trail won the $100,000 Alywow by nearly a length going six-and-a-half furlongs on the turf in June and the Grade 3 Ontario Colleen by a length-and-a-half at a mile over a good grass course in July. She then finished her year running sixth, just three-and-a-half lengths behind winner Secret Money in the Grade 3 Music City going six-and-a-half furlongs on the undulating grass course at Kentucky Downs.

Mohawk Trail is by Pioneerof the Nile out of Iroquois Girl, by Indian Charlie and was bred in Florida by Westbury Stables LLC. She has won four with a second and a third in 10 career starts while earning $210,897.

Danner has given the riding assignment on Mohawk Trail to David Egan and they have post eight. Mohawk Trail is 20-1 on the morning line.

Time Passage is no stranger to the Gulfstream Park winner’s circle after winning four consecutive races, including two stakes, all while leading from start to finish over the all-weather course last year.

Her streak began in a first level, $25,000 optional allowance sprinting five-and-a-half furlongs in July and continued in the $60,000 Soaring Softly overnight handicap going a mile-and-70-yards on Aug. 20. She then won by nearly three lengths at same distance in the $100,000 Miss Gracie on Oct. 7 before taking the $90,000 Cellars Shiraz by a neck going a mile-and-a-sixteenth on Nov. 3.

Time Passage has two career starts on turf including a fourth behind Honor D Lady in the $75,000 Honey Ryder in May and was more recently sixth, after breaking through the gate before the start in the $89,000 Sunshine Filly and Mare Turf won by Sweet Dani Girl going a mile on Jan. 14.

In her last race, Time Passage was second to Honey Fox rival Candy Light in the $100,000 South Beach overnight handicap going a mile-and-70-yards on the Gulfstream synthetic on Jan. 27.

Purchased by her current owners at the 2021 Ocala Breeders’ Sales October Yearling Sale out of the Stuart Morris consignment, Time Passage has provided a strong return on investment with $347,405 in career earnings. Time Passage has won six with three seconds in 15 lifetime starts.

Time Passage is by Bridlewood Farm stallion Tunwoo out of Savingtime, by Kantharos and was bred in Florida by Baoma Corp.

Trainer Eddie Plesa has named Edgard Zayas to ride Time Passage for the ninth consecutive time. They are listed at 30-1 in the program.

Trainer Chad Brown has the 9-5 morning line favorite in Chili Flag (Fr), who exits a sixth-place finish in the Grade 2 Pegasus World Cup Filly and Mare Turf won by Didia (Arg) going a mile-and-a-sixteenth at Gulfstream on Jan. 27.

Two starts back, Chile Flag won the $135,000 Forever Together going a mile-and-a-sixteenth at Aqueduct on Nov. 19 after finishing second in consecutive starts against second condition, $62,500 optional claimers in New York.

Chile Flag has won four of 16 career starts with six seconds and a third with earnings of $258,107.

Irad Ortiz Jr. has the mount and they will depart post six.

Rounding out the Honey Fox field are Miss Carol Ann (Ire) with John Velazquez taking the reins, Candy Light will be ridden by Tyler Gaffalione, Be My Sunshine with jockey Junior Alvarado, Spansive and rider Jose Ortiz, Walkathon has Julien Leparous named to ride, For the Flag with Luis Saez up, Infinite Diamond will be ridden by Paco Lopez and Javier Castellano ride Ancient Peace.

Return to the March 1 issue of Wire to Wire