Ocala Stud’s David O’Farrell Elected

LEXINGTON, KY— Breeders’ Cup Limited announced today that 19 individuals have been elected to serve as Breeders’ Cup Members. Voting for the 2024 Member election by 2023 Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators concluded at 5:00 p.m. EDT on June 3. Votenet, an independent election services company, administered the Members’ Election voting process.

Each Member will serve a four-year term. The following individuals, listed alphabetically, received the most votes from the Breeders’ Cup nominators to fill 19 Member seats:

Conrad Bandoroff*

Barbara Banke*

Boyd Browning *

Doug Cauthen*

Matt Dorman

Craig Fravel*

Eric Gustavson*

Bret Jones*

Gray Lyster*

Maria Niarchos-Gouazé*

David O’Farrell*

Bernie Sams*

Alex Solis II*

Edward (Ned) Toffey

Elliott Walden*

Barry Weisbord*

Aron Wellman*

Jacob West

Clem Murphy*

 *Indicates current, incumbent Members

 “The knowledge and insights provided by Breeders’ Cup Members prove key in our continued efforts to enhance the Breeders’ Cup World Championships and our incentive programs while increasing the safety and integrity of our great sport to the benefit of all,” said Barbara Banke, Chairman of the Breeders’ Cup Board of Directors. “I congratulate those who were newly elected or reelected to serve the Breeders’ Cup over the next four years and look forward to working with them.”

The Breeders’ Cup Members are elected every other year by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders’ Cup Members. The Members meet each July and elect individuals to the Breeders’ Cup Board of Directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.

Return to the June 4 issue of Wire to Wire